Screw London, Dilli Thumakda!

I’ve been suffering from a bit of a writer’s block of late and its the first time in almost a year that I went an entire month without writing a post. Maybe it was the lack of inspiration, maybe it was the hunt for a new experience, but there was something that was missing. Something that needed me to come back home and jump into a fresh, new blog post.

IMG_0001

That was today morning, but it still turned out to be a really good day to spend running around Delhi.

Sometimes, the inspiration takes the form of a person, and I happened to have lunch today with a friend who helped me recap all of my first year at TISS. It was after ages that I really felt comfortable being myself, without bothering about the world. It’s an amazing feeling, for sure.

So, a typical visitor in Delhi runs around India Gate, goes to a few memorials, and misses the real Delhi, which I thought I should take her around, considering she’s in the big bad city for the first time alone, and despite the glare of her neon phone, we both had a great time.

While a few hours are too little to experience this beautiful city, every Delhi boy (yes the ones that your mothers warn you about) knows there’s some way to capture the essence of this city. I happened to choose lunch at Khan Market, a stroll around CP, dessert at Elma’s Bakery in Hauz Khas Village, with the sunset at the lake. A nice TISS reunion at a friend’s place ended up being an added bonus.

There are some things about a day which get stuck in your head, whether it be conversations about weight gained (apparently, I have), rushing through gnats, and having fabulous thin crust pizza (Amici, you’re a wonder!), or just finding people to click our pictures, it was quite the day. 🙂

 

IMG_0014

Elma’s : We both loved the cake and the place. So much to catch up on! PC : Menon

Elma’s has always been special, because of how much I grew to love Red Velvet and Rainbow cakes they make. From a small little eatry tucked into Hauz Khas Village, its become a bustling crazy huge eatery that’s worth every bit of its exorbitant prices!

The first thing we realized today was how much we loved the seats, and I think we took forever to finish off the dessert because we were just loving it there. Absolutely fabulous.

A beautiful Sunset. PC : Menon

There’s always an element of magic about sunsets. Right from mythological days where Krishna played with the sun, to today, when watching it go down was absolutely brilliant, I completely love the sun setting. Its phenomenal. Cleanses you soul, in my opinion. One of my favourite movies remains Richard Linklater’s ‘Before Sunset’, which is absolutely fabulous to watch, and connect with, for everyone who’s been absolutely crazy about someone, yet stayed away fro them due to no control over fate and circumstances.

The next few months are going to be crazy, with my Football Club Chelsea in the race for both the league title and the Champions league (Go Jose!) , my internship, and the second year of college coming up!

I’ve started interning this summer at ITC’s Lifestyle Retailing Business Division, and while I cannot divulge project details due to sensitivity of the project, its been an absolutely fabulous experience. The people are amazing, there are new insights to be found everyday, there’s a lot to learn and the fashion industry is a totally different ball game all together. I’m hoping I have an enriching two months up ahead of me.

While walking back home today after meeting a set of fabulous people, I passed a wedding procession where ‘London Thumakda’ had people dancing in unadulterated and absolute joy. Looking at them, and back at the day I’d had, my insides did a little jig, and I thought to myself, ‘Screw London, Dilli Thumakda’

“He was still too young to know that the heart’s memory eliminates the bad and magnifies the good, and that thanks to this artifice we manage to endure the burden of the past” (Marquez Gabriel G, 1985), RIP.

When Menon can't find her way home.

When Menon can’t find her way home.

P.S. : Calvin and Suzy are sometimes the best analogies for crazy friendships, dont you think?

Leave a comment